Aquatic Plant Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to planted aquariums and to this forum. I'm making a new planted tank only half full of water. The idea is to have an aquatic area with some plants and fish and a dry area with plants and maybe some frogs later. I cut the roots of a tree that was taken down and wanted to use them in this tank. Part of them would be inside the water and part of them outside. I have read some about diy driftwood but still have some questions:

1 - Is it necessary to take off all the bark? I like the looks of it and would like to use it.

2 - The wood is very green, I think the tree was taken down only a few weeks ago. Can I use it anyway? Is there something I have to do to treat it besides boiling and soaking it?

3 - I was thinking about sealing it completly with some furniture barnish in order to keep the bark and avoid any sustances to get in the water. What do you guys think about this?

Thanks in advance for your responses.

·
Registered
5,302 Posts
Hi patonzon,

Welcome to APC, hopefully you will enjoy this forum as much as I do. Lot's of friendly people with good advice.

That being said, do not use that wood! When we refer to driftwood we are typically referring to old pieces of wood that have been submerged in freshwater for l-o-n-g periods of time to season and reduce the organics that could decompose and fowl the aquarium. "Green" wood is filled with sap that could leach into your tank. This could cause cloudy water, as well as fish death from the toxins. I'm sure others will have opinions and share them as well.

·
Premium Member
4,877 Posts