Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi i am new to the Planted Aquarium Concept !
Am from India, Kerala to be exact !
I have got a 42 gallon tank with me, which i intend to develop into an el natural aquarium !

Please forgive me if i sound like a noob (which i am btw.) :D

1)The top soil\garden soil we have here is really sandy, and i don't know if there is enough organic matter in it ! So can i use something like crumbled dried leaves or dried cow dung or a slight amount of NPK fert added to the soil to make it more fertile ?

2)What is the ideal amount of soil to be used ; i mean the height of the garden soil to be used in the tank , like an inch high from the bottom or more ? I do intend to grow a dwarf\small variety of water lilies in my tank !
Also what is the max height of gravel to be used above the soil ?
Does more gravel equate to more good bacteria ? Also does the bacteria also colonize in the soil ?

3)Which one is better a complete el Natural tank or an el Natural tank with plants potted in small trays and under it a UGF filter ?

4)Would El Natural provide enough water flow in the gravel ? I do intend to use a power head for water flow !

5)In your book(i just skimmed through the pages i will read more after my exams, i am a law student by the way) i read about floating plants ! What are their advantages ? Does Salvinia Natans offer the same advantages as duck weeds and water lettuce ?

6)Can i use NPK for lush plant growth and also does using ferts affect fish health ?

7)What kind of lighting does an El Natural tank need ? Are Fluorescent lights ok or do i need to get a fancy aquarium lighting ?

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·