Aquatic Plant Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
181 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was introduced last week to the concept of a vivarium and the beautiful myriad poison dart frogs, orchids and plants that generally populate them. I am still reading and researching to learn as much as I can, but one thing makes me curious:

Can one combine emersed planting or gardening (ex. Cryptocorynes, etc) with vivaria? To me, a complete novice, it seems that the environmental criteria are the same: humid, warm, and well lit.

Does anyone do this? Would it be advisable and workable? Before I populate my house with hundreds of smaller glass houses for aquaria, emersed plant gardens and vivaria, I thought I'd see if there were ways to combine some of them (also before I send my electric bill through the roof). :)

·
Registered
2,173 Posts
rusticitas,

Welcome to APC. To answer your question, yes, absolutely, definately, completely, uh-huh! Many of our aquarium plants are actually amphibious plants that live in the semi-aquatic zone on the banks of lakes and rivers. Just about all of them will do very well in the well lit, humid environment of a vivarium/terrarium.

Best,
Phil

·
Registered
181 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Phil Edwards said:
Welcome to APC. To answer your question, yes, absolutely, definately, completely, uh-huh! Many of our aquarium plants are actually amphibious plants that live in the semi-aquatic zone on the banks of lakes and rivers. Just about all of them will do very well in the well lit, humid environment of a vivarium/terrarium.
Excellent! Now off to get poison dart frogs. :)

·
Registered
852 Posts
Recently I saw a nice "wet" vivarium at a shop an hour from me. There were bromeliads and some mosses, but what really took me for a loop was the Hydrocotyle leucocephala that was growing both in and out of the water. It had actually started to creep up one of the corkbard panels.