Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I have recently decided to have a go at creating my own planted aquarium after being amazed after seeing some of ADA's tanks. I have only run a 35L and 60L tropical tanks before so definitely still an amateur. I have decided to get my tank early during the planning process so Im committed to the project. Due to budget and other reasons im currently looking at the Aqua One Evo 100 tank which has a capacity of 190L (50G), 2x39w T5 lights with reflectors and an advance 1050 filter although my plan is to put another Eheim classic filter in as well.
This is a website reference for the tank specs.
http://www.aquaone.co.uk/EVO.php

AS a beginner I don't want to make mistakes right from the very start so any feedback on whether this is a suitable tank would be greatly appreciated.
I'm not planning anything to extraordinary but would like a well planted well thought through aquarium that is easy to maintain but still provides challenges and satisfaction.

Any advice on set up would be greatly appreciated I've been currently looking at JDL co2 systems and ADA substrates and alternatives. As I'm sure you can tell there is plenty more research to do and I'm just beginning to pick up the basics but willing to learn and persevere. All help will be appreciated and any more info needed can be provided.

·
Registered
697 Posts
hi neil,

welcome to APC! it's good that you want to take the time to learn as much as you can. a lot of new comers to the hobby jump right in trying to grow the plants that are very high maintenance, without understanding their needs properly. as a result, they don't get what they're expecting.

as a start, i would suggest you give these two threads a read:

http://www.aquaticplantcentral.com/forumapc/new-planted-aquariums/showthread.php?t=8790
http://www.aquaticplantcentral.com/forumapc/new-planted-aquariums/showthread.php?t=14684