Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Disclaimer: This is a long post. I appreciate help with any section. Thank you!

Hello everyone. My name is Elise, and I'm new to the hobby. I would like to preface this by saying that I have read Diana Walstad's book, a few of her supplemental articles, and much more on this forum and others, so I feel that I have built a fairly solid foundation on the subject of planted aquarium ecology. However, I lack practical experience, and have several questions that I need answered to inform my planning process.

Before getting into that, here are some tank details: I will be using a 9.6 gallon, 11.8in tall rimless aquarium. I intend to use a heater and artificial lighting to supplement limited indirect sunlight, but I would like to avoid using a filter pump or airstones if I can to keep it very low tech. I will be following the standard 1in soil topped with ~1in fine gravel or sand (haven't decided yet) for substrate.

WATER HARDNESS: The first obstacle that I have encountered is that my tap water is soft. I haven't tested it myself yet, but my city's annual water quality assessment indicates that the hardness is 3GH, which is below the threshold of hardness that most plants need for good growth according to Walstad. The general consensus for addressing this simply and long-term seems to be by adding crushed oyster shell to the soil during set-up. I have a few clarifying questions about this method.
  1. How much oyster shell should be added per unit of substrate?
  2. How does this actually work? To my understanding, the oyster shell slowly dissolves, releasing calcite and aragonite into the water. Does this mean that I could add dechlorinated soft water from my tap to the tank and the oyster shell will raise the hardness naturally?
  3. How quickly does this happen, and how long is this effective for? Will I need to supplement with more oyster shell down the line?