Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, long time listener, first time caller... Been here for a while but never posted any pics of my tank. This is my first attempt at a planted tank and I am actually going to tear this down soon for a new scape. This one did not have much of a hardscape, the DW in the left corner was added in about 4 months ago. The tank is about a year and a half old. The specs:

Tank: 80 US gallon
Lights: 4 x 54 T5 HO
Filtration: Pengiun 350, Rena XP3 just added, I have a second XP3 that will be switching out the HOB
CO2: pressurized, 3 BPS through a DIY reactor fed off the canister filter
Substrate: Peat moss and sand with clay (kitty litter balls) added in later, capped with black gravel.

Fish:
Cardinal, Black Skirt, Rummy Nose Tetra
German Blue Rams
Aus. and Dwarf Rainbows
False SAE
Otocinclus
Amano and Ghost Shrimp
Tiger Barb (1 remains as a lone survivor from the once strong pack that all got sick, I miss these guys)
Varying snails

Plants
American Vals
Java and Fissiden Moss
Anubius Coffeefolia
Aquatic Fern
Unknown Crypt
Hygro Difformis and Polysperma
Java and Windelov Fern
Microsword
Rotala Macrandra
Rotala Rotundifolia

Also varying types of algae I'm always attempting to keep at bay.

The idea was really to try to learn how to grow plants. I've had success with some and with some, not so much. Here's some recent pics.

Full Tank

Left Side

Right Side

Some Fish Pics

·
Premium Member
4,877 Posts
That's a great looking scape. Thanks for posting.

I'm kinda liking the not-so-much-hardscape-look. I've got a huge "chunk" of driftwood and I've been toying with the idea of taking it out and only putting plants in it's place. My problem is that I have a narrow tank, so it would take some tinkering to get it to look good.

Anyway, you've got a lot of talent and I can't wait to see what you do with the 'new look'.

-Dave

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·