Aquatic Plant Forum banner

1 - 20 of 53 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just built my first 5 gallon natural fish tank with soil, gravel, and plants for my betta fish Poppy. I've been testing the water quality with the "API 5 in 1" test strips, which my local aquarium store says they use. The results in both my current 2.6 gallon tank (where my fish currently is) and my new 5 gallon tank (where I will be moving my fish to) have consistently been as follows:

NO3 = O
NO2 = O
pH = 6.0 (sometimes up to 6.3)
KH = 0 (sometimes up to 20)
GH = 0 (sometimes up to 30)

It looks like the pH, KH, and GH could be higher for my betta. It seems the recommendation is more water changes in order to favorably change these numbers, but I also tested my tap water and the results have been the same as the tanks (6 pH, 0 KH, 0 GH).

I'm new to all this and it seems like trying to change these markers may be a risky move. Any suggestions on this before my move my betta to the new tank? Thanks in advance!

BTW, I'm using Seachem Prime for water conditioner.

·
Banned
323 Posts
Seachem bad outside of prime IME in a simple tank you don’t want to dose a lot so you should just use something like crushed coral or baking soda because it lasts long and is cheap. You also should get water buckets and put them in a warm area so they evaporate, after they evaporate in half use them for water

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Seachem Equilibrium

Or you can make your own which would be cheaper in the long run.
You can buy Calcium Chloride, Magnesium Sulfate.
Calcium Dosing Procedure

You can add crushed coral/lime to the substrate but that will only increase Calcium & kH, slowly.
Thanks! :) Right now I like the idea of buying a product. In time I'd like to move towards DIY, but for now it seems too complicated. Will the Seachem Equilibrium take care of all the issues, do you think (low pH, KH, and GH)?

·
Super Moderator
2,736 Posts