Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4,332 Posts
Fish require very few trace elements and besides, the majority of their dietary needs are met perfectly well by any of the common flake foods.

If you're trying to address the needs of the fish, the GH isn't all that important. If you do want to supply Ca & Mg, why not use CaSO4 and MgSO4? These compounds dissolve pretty quickly and sulfate is pretty innocuous when it comes to both fish and plants. I'd add a bit of CaCl2, just for the calcum, and maybe a bit of K2SO4 for the K. Flourish trace doesn't add anything that regular Flourish doesn't. It's pretty much a product without a purpose as far as I can tell.

Honestly, if you're not trying to do something special, why not add 10% or 20% tapwater to your RO? That would be 100 times easier than messing with all the chemicals.

Don't forget KH. When it comes to fish, this is far more important than GH.

·
Registered
4,332 Posts
I'm no fry expert, but my understanding is that they really get everything they need (including trace elements) from their yolk sack and the food that they'll eventually transition to.

What makes you think you need a GH that is so high? If the fish are really found in nature in a low TDS environment, the GH of that water will be very low too. The only thing that concerns me about what you're doing now is that the CaCl2 supplies tons of chloride - certainly much more than they see in nature. They need more than zero, but I really think CaSO4 would be a better option for the majority of your calcium.

Good luck!

·
Registered
4,332 Posts
A GH of 2 or 3 is actually quite low, but there are plenty of natural waterways with a GH of almost zero. Fish live and breed just fine in these areas. I'm saying that if you're trying to keep your TDS low, you can get away with much less Ca & Mg, assuming you're only worried about breeding fish.

·
Registered
4,332 Posts