Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
5,310 Posts
I also ordered from EMS in the last couple of weeks. I purchased the 1 liter 50% biological grade for $23.00. The hazardous material charge is a UPS charge, not a EMS charge. My shipping (including UPS hazmat charge) was $32.24 for a total of $55.24. The concentration of glutaraldehyde in Excel is 1.5%. The 1 liter 50% concentration will allow me to make 33.333 liters of 1.5% glutaraldehyde at a cost of $1.657 per liter. Excel typically costs me $20 plus freight for a two liter bottle. Seems like a good deal to me, plus it allows me the option of making stronger concentrations so my doses are smaller.

·
Registered
5,310 Posts
Hi MartialTheory,

I have been using Glut instead of Excel for about 6 months now and I find it works as good as Excel both as a source for carbon and as a algae inhibitor. I buy mine here: http://www.emsdiasum.com/microscopy/products/chemicals/glutaraldehyde.aspx. See post #114 on page 12 of this thread for information as to price and more importantly, hazmat and shipping costs. BTW, Excel contains 1.5% glutaraldehyde.

·
Registered
5,310 Posts
Hi MartialTheory,

I mix is at 1.5% concentration. Some of my tanks get "normal" dosage per Excel instructions; other tanks get 2X dosage if I have an outbreak of algae starting.

I don't have any problems with my plants at 2X dosage except for my Vals (but not Sags). My Vallisneria grow 24" tall without Excel / Glut and 2"-3" tall with it. They still send out runners and look healthy except for being stunted. Who knows, this may be a way to develop a new "dwarf Val"! LOL Instead of Vals I use tall (18") Eleocharis species (Giant Hairgrass).

·
Registered
5,310 Posts
Hi overboard,

Just an FYI, Post #115 (page 12 of this thread) is where the Glut concentration in Excel is mentioned to be 1.5%. This was determined as a result of testing done in India. The assumption of a 2.5% concentration is almost 2X the actual.

·
Registered