Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey all, my name is Chris and I am currently living in Portland Oregon. I am a bit new to aquatic plants and aquariums in general. My girlfriend is the reason that I was introduced to the hobby and I bet she is regretting it now. She moved in with me August of last year and over the course of the next few months she decided that she wanted some pets of her own. I had 2 dogs (pembroke welsh corgi and Westie/Beagle mix) and a green cheek conure already so a pug was out of the question and cats were just not an option right then. She remembered seeing "Pea Puffers" a few years back and wanted to get some. I wasn't really keen on the idea but I wanted her to be happy. So after a lot of searching and footwork we finally called this place called "The Wet Spot". They didn't know what a pea puffer was but they had something called a dwarf puffer, which was about the right size. I think I should go back and say that I always thought aquariums were lame. In my mind they were boxes with dumb fish and neon rocks with a treasure chest that blew bubbles and more often than not were dirty and covered in algae. So we drove up to "The Wet Spot"(which is hard to google at work... think about it ;) ) and entered their east door where they had a bunch of empty aquariums and everything seemed kind of scattered, I wasn't impressed. So we start to look around and I became impressed with the amount of stocked tanks they have (easily 100+). Then I rounded the corner into the next room and there they were, 4 beautiful green tanks that were covered in plants... I was quite taken aback, now I was very impressed. So I told my gf right then that fake plants were not an option. So we purchased a 10 gallon and they told us that we should wait a week to buy fish. I have heard of aging water before so this seemed to make sense.