Aquatic Plant Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys,

I'm pretty new to fish tanks, so I'm not really sure how to identify this snail I found in my planted tank. I've seen a couple more, much smaller. I pulled this one off the side of the tank, though I've seen them on the plants a few times. I haven't noticed any damage yet, though. Is this guy something I should be concerned about?

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yeah, and he's the biggest one I've seen so far. I've noticed them on the plants but haven't really seen any damage. I thought at first they were destroying a new crypt petchii, but looks like it's crypt melt. I guess I won't worry too much about them, but I'll have to watch their numbers for now.

·
Registered
3,136 Posts
Looks a bit like a malaysian trumpet snail, except that the coloring isnt quite right; so I dont think so.

·
Registered
816 Posts
its far too rounded. There is that snail that has become problematic around north american lakes... forget what it is called. It's a live bearer. Trapdoor snails?

·
Registered
3,136 Posts
I believe you are thinking of the zebra mussel which is a problem in the great lakes.

·
Registered
816 Posts
No, apparently trapdoor snails are a problem in some areas.

We have the zebra mussel issue, I live right next to the lake and when I collect local plants I am extremely careful when I clean them.

·
Registered
3,136 Posts
K
thanks
Hadn't come across that one

·
Registered
121 Posts
looks a lot like a pond snail with either calcium deficiency or one that's been in acidic waters. If it's a pond snail, no problems. Just prolific egg layers. Eats dying plants.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
looks a lot like a pond snail with either calcium deficiency or one that's been in acidic waters. If it's a pond snail, no problems. Just prolific egg layers. Eats dying plants.