Aquatic Plant Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Here is my information:

1) 55 Gal
2) DIY Hood with 4 48" 40 watt bulbs (2.91 wpg)
3)Whisper Power 60
4) This is pending (2" Turface, 1" sand or gravel)
5)No Plants Yet
6)No Fish Yet
7)AP Master Fresh Water
8)No Fert Yet
9)No CO2 unless deemed necessary
10)Plan on weekly 20% water changes
11)Tank not set up yet

12)I've been doing alot of reading and research on this site and others.
The participants here seem very friendly and well versed, so I've chosen to make this my home site for aquarium plants. I've managed to thouroughly confuse myself on the issues of the planted tank. I'm new at this and looking for some advice. What I would like to achieve is a community fish population with a not too sparse, but not overbearing plant population. I'm looking for some fairly easy to grow plants that match the setup I have. Please let me know what your suggestions are. The tank isn't set up yet, so I can make some changes if necessary. Thank you

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
To clarify

I'm not looking for plant type advice now. I reread my post and it seems to imply that. I'm looking for advice on setting up the tank correctly first.

thanks,

·
Registered
404 Posts
As far as i understand once passing the 2watt per gallon range you'll definitely need co2 and ferts. Without it your plants will basically try to grow on what reserves it has left. This means your plants will end up looking yellow and semi-transparent. I think you either have to reduce the lighting or work with co2 anf ferts. As far as substrates go, all i have experience with are inert gravel and ecocomplete. Still learning like you are ;)

·
Premium Member
7,475 Posts
I would recommend using C02 at 2.91WPG, you can start out with two 2-liter pop bottles intil you can go pressurized if desired.