Aquatic Plant Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Here are pics of my 55 gal tank and the African Fern that is growing some lovely fur. Actually a lot of the plants are getting this.

Ammonia: 0
Nitrite: 0
NitrAte: Closer to 10 than 20 on the color chart
Lighting: 2x40w Zoo Med Ultra Sun bulbs
Filter: 1 Penguin 330
Ferts: Root tabs and Fluorish (when I remember)

I do weekly maintenance. Changing around 15 gals. each week. The only algae eaters I have are 3 otos. And they don't seem to crazy about it.

Is this fuzz algae or something more sinister? What is the best way to get rid of this and prevent it from coming back? More otos? SAE's if I can find any?
I wanted to get bristlenoses but, I have a rather large S. Eupterus in there.

I'm new at planted tanks so I welcome any and all help/comments!
:D

Thanks, Jan

P.S. I'm also getting alot of green algae on the glass.

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I've put root tabs in as I've planted. I use just under a capful (5ml) of Flourish every 1 - 2 weeks. I guess I was afraid to add it too often. Like I said, I'm new at this. :wink:

·
Premium Member
7,475 Posts
First of all you need to get a PH & P04 test kits. Then make sure you have a balance in your N03 & P04.

How long is the lights on daily?

Do you run C02?

If you are not running C02 along with your low lighting ferts are not really needed.

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Sorry, I do have a Ph tester. It's 8. Lighting is just 2 x 40w Zoo Med Super Daylight fluoro bulbs. 6500K full spectrum. Nothing fancy. Only getting less than 1.5wpg. I don't use Co2. Really didn't think I needed it with this lighting. I will have to try to get the other tests next month.

The first two months the tank was going I just had 2 x 20 watts of light. I just put the new lights on about 3 weeks ago.

I really wanted this to be a low light, easy to take care of tank. :(

·
Premium Member
7,475 Posts