Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to planted tanks but not to aquariums as my wife and I have multiple tanks ranging up to a 135 gallon Lake Malawi cichlid tank. I have just set up an 80 gallon planted tank that will house rainbows. I have a problem in getting the water chemistry correct for the fish and plants. The tank is set up with flourite as the substrate and has a pH controlled CO2 system and a substrate heater.

I have added plants but not yet started to add the fish because the tank pH is 5.9. This is confirmed not only on the pH monitor but also by testing using an Aquarium Pharmaceuticals test kit (pH 6 as that is as low as it tests.) The KH is 2 Dkh and the GH is 3. The tap supply is pH 7 with a KH of 2 and a GH of 2. I have been told to avoid at all costs phosphate buffers and would like some suggestions with how to raise the pH to around 6.8 and the procedure for raising it. Needless to say at this pH level the CO2 system will not engage. Also the tank has 260 watts of compact florescent lighting. Your help with the pH and any other suggestions are most appreciated.

·
Registered
60 Posts
Hi,

To have optimal plant growth you need to have 30 ppm CO2. Provided that your substarate is inert (I think fluorite is) and your KH=2 then you should shoot for PH=6.4. If you PH is below that then you need to decrease the co2 injection. In order to aclimate the rainbows you might want to shoot for even lower CO2 level - say 20 ppm (PH = ~6.5).

And above all - have fun - here's a rainbow in my tank...

Aviel.

·
Registered
6,380 Posts
If your pH is 7.0 out of the tap, and 5.9 in the tank, there must be something in the tank driving it down. Do you have any things like different rocks, ornaments or driftwood in there that could be the culprit?

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·