Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
166 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm on another forum a lot, but kept finding info on this forum to be helpful, as well. And with so many people mentioning it, it seems this forum is a nice compliment to the other. So here I am!

Hi to all who know me and welcome to those who don't yet.

As far as my tanks go, I have a total of 10 tanks, but I only have 3 active at the moment. All the others are Q/T, H/T and plant holding tanks.

My main tank is my 75g that is high tech with injected CO2, TEK lighting, the whole bit. I'm still learning about planted tanks as I go. I'm terrible at aquascaping with my main attention focused on the fish themselves, but I couldn't imagine not having real plants as I'm also a regular gardener.

I have a bit of experience with most algae by now [smilie=l: but I'm getting better with my plants.

My favorite fish are [I]Pelvicachromis taeniatus[/I] (dwarf cichlids similar to Kribs). I have 5 in my 75g tank with the 'Kienke' doing the best, followed by a pair of 'Moliwe' and one lone male 'Nigerian Red'. Apparently, he didn't like the female I selected for him so he let me know by killing her. I'll have to either find him a mate or trade him in for a pair that's already selected each other.

I also have torpedo barbs, cardinal tetras, a couple of apistos, a very pretty L204 pleco, lots of amanos, a RCS colony, guppies, chain loaches, and more. Not all in my 75g, of course.

Great to be here and I hope to learn from you all. And if at all possible, I hope to earn my keep by helping others when I can. :cool:

·
Premium Member
4,877 Posts
Howdy and Welcome! It sounds like you've got quite a bit of experience (at least compared to me). You'll probably have many opportunitues to give some great advice and share your experiences.

I just noticed where you are from; I have an Uncle/Aunt that live in Sugarland.

-Dave

·
Premium Member
2,096 Posts
Welcome aboard!