Aquatic Plant Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
123 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I've been a bit of a lurker on this site for a few years now and have finally gotten my life to a pace I can really start to slow down and participate. I'm not new to freshwater aquariums or to planted tanks, but never found the time to really immerse myself(no pun intended) into the hobby. I'm an automotive technician, living with my soon to be fiance, and our 2 Siamese cats. I'm of course a bit of a computer addict(I'm here aren't I...), always surfing the web for info on the stuff I like, mostly cars, music and fish. I've always been into aqua-culture, fish, natural biotopes, and seeing them in their naturally occurring habitats. One reason I got back into the hobby, besides having the time again, was seeing a small underground-fed pool with all sorts of common 'pet-store' fish while on vacation in Mexico.

I've recently restarted my 29 gal tank as a bit of an exercise to get back into the swing of things before I take on retrofitting my oceanic 110 to be a fully operational and viable planted tank. The tank is showing some new tank woes after cycling and has minor algae in the form of diatoms and a little thread algae in the bushier plants. But anyway, here she goes...

Equipment:

29 Gal. tank
H.O.T. Magnum canister filter
Coralife CF fixture with 55w 6700K bulb
Generic Fixture w/ 20w T-8 Flora-Glo bulb
DIY CO2 w/ Powerhead Diffuser
Eco-Complete Black Substrate
Rock and Driftwood Hardscape

Flora

Anubias Nana Narrow Leaf
Anubias Nana Petite
Crypt. Wendtii Red
Egeri Najas
Fissidens
Hygrophila Difformis
Java Moss
Narrow-Leaf Chain Sword
Needle Leaf Java Fern
Red Temple
Rotala
Ricca Fluitans
Unknown Vallisneria (I forgot)

Fauna

Panda Corys
Ottos
Blue Rams
Black Neon Tetras
Kuhli Loaches

Hardscape(w/ plastic plants for fish comfort)

Just after first Planting

+1 Week