Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been combating hole in the head disease (HITH) for a year as of November, and I think I may have found something that works. The reason I'm posting here is that Diana suggested I might pose a question here- and while I still have questions, I thought some more eyes on my proposed "answer" might be of value.

First off, I've been keeping fish on and off for >35 years. I'm an analytical chemist, and I know just enough about water chemistry to make me dangerous. The fish in question are oscars; I've had oscars for years, kept them as a kid, never had a single problem with keeping them.

Now, when I'm all growed up and trying to do right by them (big tanks, better water, etc.), they get sick. With HITH. In different tanks, and independent filtration systems. We didn't have the Internet back when I was young, and the fish pathology texts I had then (Untergasser's book and Post's "Textbook of Fish Health") would just have referred me to hexamita.

I treated with metronidazole, running courses of the stuff for upwards of three weeks with little effect. I improved filtration; my water is now crystal clear, but the HITH reoccurs. I try different foods. I try supplementing feed with vitamin D, vitamin C, B vitamins... all the stuff that the bag says is already in there, but I try anyway because vitamins break down, or the labeling is wrong. Oddly, improving water quality by using RO (my tap water runs >500 ppm TDS) seems to make it worse. I try adding organic carbon in the form of tannins and leaves and peat extract.... no dice.

But, the fish keep eating; they're otherwise healthy. They get deep erosions of the sensory pits, which wax and wane over a 10-14 day cycle. Nothing fits, nothing seems to work.