Aquatic Plant Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
121 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
How did I find APC? That is a long story!

I actually found it by "googling" Diana Walstad.

I have recently (last month) gotten interested in having aquaria because of the tanks I have seen created by Takashi Amano. When I saw his aquaria I was simply amazed and delighted. I had no idea that aquaria could look like that. I even ordered his Volume 2 book to drool over his designs. Since I am a landscape designer, his work is particularly meaningful to me.

However! Once I began to dig deeper into the whole Amano method, the more I was put off by all of the gadgets and expense. Was all this necessary I asked myself? Why, for instance (I asked biologist self) did one need to add carbon dioxide to the aquarium water? CO2 is what fishes give off! Where else in Nature do plants get CO2? Substrates, yes. And?? In other words, isn't the word "nature" in Amano's business and books sort of a misnomer? If anything, his creations are very, very ARTIFICIAL not natural.

Now, how this perception led me to Diana Walstad I cannot say, although I did see her book on amazon as I was looking around for different books on aquatic plants and aquaria. Her approach really was natural! But it also seemed to me to produce rather typical and not very elegant aquascapes. If I had seen Walstad's aquaria before Amano's I would not even be sitting here right now on this forum! I had aquaria like her's when I was a kid and that was all I wanted of that kind of aquarium.

Amano's aquaria were an EPIPHANY! Yes, but not really within my capabilities or desires. Too much equipment and cost. Walstad's aquaria were "under-whelming" yes, but made sense.