Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey!

I am quite new to planted tanks and I can't get my plants to grow nicely in groups. I'm at 2.5 wpg 55 gallon tank pressurized co2.

How do you guys trim and plant stem plants?

When trimming, do you guys unroot the bottom part and plant the top part?

How far apart do you plant each stem plant and how many plants in each hole?

Please help me.

Thank you

·
Registered
697 Posts
when planting stem plants, you can go a few routes... you can clip the plants down to whatever height you want them at, and they will normally sprout new growth from there and usually be bushier. the other method is to when clipping off the plant, replant the clipped part in place of the existing plant. and lastly, if you started off with very few plants, you can replant the clippings to fill out what you already have.

depending on how big your tank is, and how big of an area you want to cover, i usually space them about one inch apart. but this depends on the size of stem plants. and normally it's one per spot. you don't want to plant multiple plants in one spot as you will overcrowd them, and they might die on you.

hope this helps!

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
when planting stem plants, you can go a few routes... you can clip the plants down to whatever height you want them at, and they will normally sprout new growth from there and usually be bushier. the other method is to when clipping off the plant, replant the clipped part in place of the existing plant. and lastly, if you started off with very few plants, you can replant the clippings to fill out what you already have.