Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi im not new to fishkeeping but I am a novice at planted tanks.I've
got a co2 reactor I built myself which runs into my powerhead for
distribution.
My plants are:
1)Wysteria 4)Amazon Swords 7)Ammania A easy to grow red plant
2)Java moss 5)Bacopa mint 8)Baby tears
3Dwarf hair grass 6)Lud Repens

My plants arent lively, probably due to the substrate which is sand.
I plan to place my plants in clay pots with aquatic soil rather than
tear the whole tank down. That and the fact that I'm not sure what
direction to go with a substrate suitable for plants.
Have you got any advice for me on whic direction to go? I really want
the plants to flourish, but they aren't.Any and all advice you have
would be quite welcome.

Thank you very much, Jay

·
Registered
1,130 Posts
What size is your tank and how much light do you have in there? Besides the substrate, those are two of the most important factors in aquascaping.

Paul

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Specs

Its 55 gallons with 2/ 18 inch power glow high intensity aquarium lamps It says promotes coral, invertebrate and plant growth, 15 watt each 18,000k

·
Registered
2,330 Posts
You have 2 major issues working against you:

1) 2x18 normal fluorescent bulbs HARDLY offer enough light for even very very low light plants.
2) 18,000K bulbs are not plant appropriate.

For this tank, you will want to shoot for atleast 2wpg. You can do this with a 2x55 Power Compact light setup. I always DIY it a little and go with www.ahsupply.com

For bulbs, get something between 5000K and 10000K. 5000 is more yellow, 6700 is more green, 10000K is more blue.

There are also GE 9325K's which look pinkish, but are wonderfull for plant growth.

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Masive lighting upgrade

EDIT: having a lighting problem. Planted tanks are way to expensive. I mean the lighting.

·
Registered
4,700 Posts
Daddyo72 wrote: