Aquatic Plant Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
134 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

Basically I want to add to this tank. right now i have 2.66 Watts/gallon and a diy CO2. the plants are wisteria, bacopa carolina, and HM. I want to add some red plants (Alternanthera reineckii ''roseafolia' and Ludwigia glandulosa) and some kind of grass.

Please give me ideas. On either the layout of the rocks, the layout of the plants, or the type of plants.

·
Registered
733 Posts
Though I'm not an expert in aquascaping, you may want to think about placing the plants by height with the taller ones on the back and the shorter ones towards the middle. YOu can leave the front for a ground cover of sorts.

Other things to think about are to blend finer leaves with broad leaves and to position the plants based on their color also. I would get the opinions of accomplished aquascapers. You may also want to look at AGA Contest page for some inspiration, motivation and ideas.

As for the stones, take them out and try out different combinations that pleases your eyes and go for it.

Good Luck.

·
Registered
213 Posts
Looks nice. The one thing that I notice is the symmetry of the cluster of rocks to the right. They are all seemingly pointing the same direction and their position looks a little unnatural. I do like the rocks to the left though, and the planting of tall plants in between the groupings. It looks like there's HM on the left side of the large stone, and in the picture it seems like it doesn't get a lot of light because of it. I'd consider moving it forward a little and letting the taller plant behind it take that space. But those are just my uneducated suggestions. It looks nice as it stands.

Scouter

·
Registered
134 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
i plan to remove the big rock and only have a couple small ones.

i am also adding lilaeoposis, vallisneria contortion, echinodorus blehueri, echinodorus ozelot, alternanthera reineckii and ludwigia glandulosa.