Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello, and thanks for checking out this thread. This tank has been up and running for maybe five months, and in the past month or two, it's been looking really rough. I have no algae problems, but everything is brown and wild. I'm very new to planted tanks so I think the plants just endured the first couple months and are now looking bad. I provided some pictures, but they are from a cell phone so don't expect much. Anyway, here are the specs.

Tank:

20g Long
28 watts of fluorescent lighting
Eco-complete
No co2
Driftwood
Biowheel
Stealth heater
I try to dose excel, potassium* and plantex csm+b 3 times a week.
30% weekly water change
Fed once a day

Plants:

Wysteria
Hygro
Giant Hygro (?)
Anubias
Java moss remnants

Fish:

3 angels
2 male endlers
1 flying fox
2 ottos
1 clown pleco

What surprises me is that the plants are getting really good growth. They are branching off, spreading roots, and getting tall. But when new leaves sprout, they soon go brown. The angels breeding is the only thing that tells me the water isn't poisonous ;). I really new at this and would like any tips in keeping my plants healthy. Do you see anything wrong with the setup? Something I'm not doing which is causing the leaves to wilt and die? Please ask for any info you may need. Any tips would be appreciated, thanks.

·
Premium Member
5,448 Posts
You're plants are probably starving for lights and nutrients. 28W on a 20 gal is very low light, though all your plants are low light plants, that's probably not helping. Secondly, you're not providing the needed nutrients for them to grow much. You're adding micro nutrients, a carbon source (both of which are good) and calcium. You're neglecting nitrogen, phosphorus and potassium.

Why are you adding calcium? Do you have very soft water?