Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
288 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am going to pick up a pot of it this weekend, any info for keeping it would be great.

Does it stay really low?
light?
ferts?
co2?

·
Registered
1,715 Posts
I have some experience with Elatine triandra. Basically, it was a macronutrient loving plant, so don't let the nitrate or phosphate drop down to zero. Preferably, boost the phosphate to around 1-2 ppm and the nitrate to 10-15 ppm or more. The result will be intensive, fast growth.

Seems to prefer high light and CO2. You have to train it, though, to grow it flat as a foreground plant just like glosso. Plant the stems/runners horizontally along the substrate in parallels.

It's not too different from glossostigma in terms of nutrient demands and maintenance.

Good luck!

Carlos

·
Registered
288 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Does it require lots of micro nutrient as well? I seem to get GW faster when I increase KNO3 and PO4 dosage.

·
Registered
886 Posts
Great plant. Another thing that is interesting is that little bulbs grow on the leaf nodes. Eventually those fall off and get buried in other areas around the tank and turn into a full plant. I'm just getting through some algae wars, and the Elatine made it through. If it is left alone it can take some abuse, but once you start moving it around it will melt like a crypt does.
Does it require lots of micro nutrient as well?
If your other plants are doing well, you should be fine.

·
Registered
288 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
A couple more questions for you guys.

Is this plant supppose to grow flat like glosso or a vertical growing plant?

Is there a good way to plant them? I am having a hard time planting it stem by stem. I am planting 3-4 stem in a clump at a time.

Do they have the look of miniture glosso? I have never seen them before and not sure if I got the right plant.

·
Registered
389 Posts