Aquatic Plant Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
394 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok so I paid some guy in the forum for some "HC." I live in FL so when I got the package it was totally melted dead. DOA for sure, and thats cool because it was my fault for not asking for styrofoam. I am new to this hobby and i've had HC before and what I got in the mail didn't seem like HC. Can anyone with experience tell me if this is in fact HC? I know the picture is horrible but from all of the pictures on the internet the leaf size is so small, I am having problems believing this was in fact HC. Please help me. Thanks.

·
Super Moderator
5,865 Posts
No, that is not HC. It looks more like HM or Bacopa australis.

Looking at the bag it's not dead, just suffering. Either way, you didn't get what you paid for.

Oh, and it's not your fault you received melted plants either. There's way too much moisture in that bag. I've mailed dozens of packages to FL this summer with no casualties.

You should be able to find HC at your LFS. If they don't have it have them order it for you. Florida Aquatic Nurseries now sells it in pots so any LFS should be able to get it for you.

·
Premium Member
4,877 Posts
Oh, and it's not your fault you received melted plants either. There's way too much moisture in that bag. I've mailed dozens of packages to FL this summer with no casualties.
Ditto. I've sent and received a few packages this summer when high's were 95 - 100 and no melt-outs. The plants need only be moist. A bag full of water = a bag full of soup.

·
Registered
394 Posts
Discussion Starter #5