Aquatic Plant Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone,
So like i've said in the "introductions" section, I'm quite new to aquarium plant keeping and have done some research but decided I'd find more help on a forum and found this one. I've just purchased a 130 gal. aquarium for my fish and fear it may be too large to start keeping plants. At the moment I have pool sand substrate which is very fine but I'm looking to add some type of soil substrate.

So I guess I'll list off my questions hoping no one will get frustrated with me :(

1.) How much wattage am I looking for, for a 130 gal. aquarium about 2 feet tall?
2.) Do I need a CO2 diffuser?
If so, should I have 2 diffuser's for a tank this big?
3.) What trace elements should I keep an eye out for?
Finally,
4.) Do I have to purchase fertilizer for the plants?

At the moment I'm attending university so my budget is quite low, but I'm really excited to get something going! Any advice is much appreciated.

Thanks everyone

·
Registered
252 Posts
That's quite an undertaking. Did you get any other equipment with the tank?

I suggest that you try to learn more before diving in and buying stuff. You need to have a better idea of what you want your aquarium to look like. CO2 injection, filters, lights etc. will cost money and generally speaking a 130 gal tank will cost more that a 20 gal tank. You might consider starting with a smaller set up, and save your 130 gal for down the road.

This forum will be an excellant place to learn. You can purchase everything you need online, but you will most likely need to find a really good local fish store as well.

The issue is that you need to match some of the equipment depending on what you are striving for. For example, some plants do well with low light while others will require that you have more light. You won't need CO2 unless you just want to have a brightly lit tank to grow lots of fast growing plants.