Aquatic Plant Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
223 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I couldn't find a fish illness section so I'll post here for now.

I have a small koi (about 5 inch) and 2 commets in a 55 gal temporarily. I recently add the koi and within a few days i notice the koi started to lose a few scales. Now the gold fishes start to lose scales too. The temperature is at 75 F atm and pH is around 6.5 from my most recent test today.

Normally to cure ich i just add aquarium salt and raise temp to 80 F, but with the gold fish and koi, is it going to be a problem for them?

Thanks for reading.

·
Registered
6,380 Posts
I wonder if they aren't fighting if they've all suddenly started losing scales. Do they appear to be getting along okay?

I'm by no means an expert on Goldies, so hopefully someone else will jump in with other ideas.

·
Registered
406 Posts
What size tank and how long has it been set up?

I have never seen Goldfish lose scales unless it was from being banged around.

Goldfish get big but Koi get huge, three feet or more is not outrageous for Koi which is why Koi do not end up in tanks especially with Goldfish. For a time, depending upon conditions the Comets will keep pace with the Koi as per size but eventually the Koi can outstrip the Goldfish. Singletails such as Comets can take care of themselves but Fancies are, at times, slow and cumbersome.

I have had Goldfish in higher temps for weeks but 75 seems a bit high as a normal thing. Koi can withstand temp variences as can Goldfish and some folk use salt as a normal additive although I do not.

·
Registered
223 Posts
Discussion Starter #4