Aquatic Plant Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
852 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

I don't notice many people posting about Labyrinth fishes. Does anyone still keep them in their planted tanks?

·
Registered
1,715 Posts
I keep a trio of chocolate gouramis in my 20g long. It's my first time with them, and I love them! I've learned the hard way though that they love to jump.

I think there is much unlocked potential in small labyrinth fish for use in planted aquaria. I think many wild betta species and Parosphromenus sp could be excellent candidates.

Carlos

·
Registered
6,380 Posts
I have plants in all of my 2 gallon Betta systems, which include filtration, heating and CF lighting. :)

·
Registered
1,710 Posts
I have three bettas each in their own bowl, but have been interesting in getting some sort of wild type betta for a while now.

·
Registered
852 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Sir_BlackhOle said:
I have three bettas each in their own bowl, but have been interesting in getting some sort of wild type betta for a while now.
Have you seen Betta sp. 'Mahachai'? I think the Betta experts have been talking about them being a cross between B. smaragdina and either B. splendens or B. imbellis. Either way, they're absolutely amazing! Here's a pic:

Tsunami, I've always heard the fabled Chocolate Gourami is difficult to keep. Have you had any trouble other than the jumping?

I too think the Parosphromenus species could potentially be good planted tank residents. Some of the Trichopsis species (in particular, T. pumilus) are also radiant. Most of them have green/blue eyes that sparkle from all the way across a room.

·
Registered
119 Posts
That's one cool looking Betta. They're always so pretty. I wish stores hadn't carried so many Bettas that people stop appreciating how great they really are.
On a lighter note, no nano (or big) planted tank is complete without this little guy:

I'm also keeping an eye out ":shock:" for some licorice gouramis.

·