Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just setup a 20G Long aquarium using a LED light. I've never used LED lighting before, only compact flourescents. So I'm not familiar with WPG rule with this type of lighting. I'm wondering if the light fixture I have is significant enough to grow low light plants? This is what I have...

Current Satellite Freshwater LED
10 watts, 12V, 400 lumens
6500k white (66 leds)
445nm blue (24 leds)

Any help appreciated!

·
Super Moderator
7,436 Posts
Based on http://current-usa.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/04/Satellite-Comparison-V3.pdf you probably have less than 20 PAR light intensity, which is too little for almost all plants other than mosses, Java Ferns, anubias, and a few of the "weedy" plants like, perhaps, Hydrophila polysperma. I found that it took me about 35-40 PAR before I could grow most of the low light plants. You could use two of those lights, and you would have plenty of light for a low light tank.

There is no watts per gallon "rule" using LED lights (actually there is none for any type of lighting other than T8 lights). You have to go by measured light intensity using a PAR meter.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks hoppy... I was thinking about buying a 2nd light fixture, now I definitely will. I knew it did not look very bright.

Could you suggest a single LED light fixture that would be better than 2 of the ones I already have, that don't cost a arm and a leg?

·
Super Moderator
7,436 Posts
A Finnex Planted Plus 30 inch light should give you roughly twice what that light gives you, which would very likely be low medium to medium light. If it is a Planted Plus 24/7 light it could be dimmed if you need to do so. (And, later, when you decide you want to use medium light plants it would work for that.) At $85 I agree that it isn't the most economical light.