Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
10 gal
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a beginner when it comes to the aquarium keeping hobby.

I have a 10 gallon tank currently (hopping to start a 5 gal bowl). I tried the walstad method on the 10 gal but had to redo because after the plants went crazy and did big trim closer down to the bottom but the plants melted away.
I have redone the tank and now it has a filter and fewer plants but am hoping to bring it back to life. I think it needs brighter lighting, so if any of you know of a cheapish aquarium light that is mid to high lighting that would be great so i could get more plant growth and possibly stop using the filter.
I am considering buying this.

For the 5 gal that I want to start soon I want to try the walstad method and have some shrimp and maybe some celestial pearl danios ( is that to much for a 5 gal.?)
I need some help with overall setup so it is sucsefull. For substrate I am wondering if I should use organic potting soil and cap with gravel or go for aquarium soil like fluval with no cap?
For the lighting on the 5 gal I am planning to reuse one of the lamps I have for my 10 gallon rn. I am wondering if the light will be enough sense it is a 5 gallon bowl or if I need to get a brighter.

The stock in my 10 gallon: Once the tank balences and plant growth is good
3 neon tetras. I hope to add 3 more tetras and some sparkling gouramis and maybe some
5-7 Amano shrimp. Blue shrimp
1 nerite

The filter
Nature Natural environment World Font Adaptation

How the 10 gallon looked before
Plant Light Green Nature Grass

The 10 gallon now
Plant Nature Green Rectangle Window

·
Registered
810 Posts