Aquatic Plant Forum banner

Long term experience with PPS Pro?

36K views 68 replies 16 participants last post by  forddna 
#1 ·
Has anyone had any long term experience using PPS Pro? If so can you post it?

I’ve been using PPS Pro for about 18 months. I still do 10 – 20 % water changes per week. I test regularly for KPN. Over 18 months I’ve noticed that TDS based on conductivity gradually increases requiring occasional more than 20% water changes. I’ve also noticed that K tends to build up and PO4 and NO3 decline requiring additions of Ca(NO3)2 and KHPO4.

I do have to say that I have been very successful growing every plant that I’ve tried to the point that I have thrown out way more plants than I ever bought (even some considered difficult like Cabomba Furcata). The problem is that without regular monitoring of KPN levels, these fertilizer elements eventually get out of control using a fixed once a day plan (without radical water changes).

It seems to me that any fixed once a day plan (without radical water changes) is doomed to failure since it doesn’t account for the individual nature of each tank.

What is your experience?

#2 ·
Very interesting that you should ask this question. I have just discovered that I'm having issues with PPS Pro as well.