Aquatic Plant Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,
Im very new to this PlantedAquaria and the FORUM. Some basic queries i need to clear.

I would like to know this basic thing from all the experts here that when we follow some rule of wpg. in low tech / low light tank,
1)do we need to follow any rule abt how many plants can a tank house.(plants per sq ft)
2)do no of plants affect growth regarding light factor ? (wpg)
3) do no of plants in low light tanks affect algae growth? i.e 1.2-2 wpg (low light) tank(10g) with just few say 4-5 plants and same tank with lots of plants ?

the next about CO2 tank..
4)When heavy planted tanks run on CO2 and HIGH lights,people dont use ANUBIAS and such Low Lights plants atall ?

regards..

niroo

·
Premium Member
5,448 Posts
Hey Niroo, first off, welcome to apc.

There is no rule about how many plants one can or can't have in a tank. Basically plants require certain things to grow healthy, and if one provides them, the plants will grow. Their growth rates will vary according to various factors, with lighting being the major one, imo. Here's a real good article which you might find helpful.

The wpg 'rule' doesn't hold up in smaller tanks (10gal and under). If you stop to think about it, a 15W bulb is not a whole lot of energy. So while a 15W bulb on a 10 gal tank would give you 1.5 wpg, it's really very low lighting. Whereas if you were to put 150W over a 100gal tank, it's still 1.5wpg, but in terms of absolute energy, it's much more.

With proper conditions, there is no reason one can't grow 'low light' plants in a high tech tank.

Here's a couple more references you might find helpful:

http://www.rexgrigg.com/
http://www.aquaticplantcentral.com/...ums/14684-new-tank-setup-guide-parts-1-a.html

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
thanx Bert H
That was very nice info.10 g was just an eg i asked. Actually i was trying my hand on 29g aqua(30x15x15) so was asking abt.