Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
459 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Someone please help me settle this discussion. I've read/heard on too many forums that MH lighitng is strictly a reef aquarium fixture. Correct me if I'm wrong but wouldn't it work just as well for planted aquaria (a la Luis Navarro) in a similar setting. From what I've read MH lighting is analogous to running your planted tank on nitrous. Luis may get away with it because he's a master, but those of us who can't balance our tanks on the razor's edge may regret the investment in a sun-tan bright envrionment. Am I wrong to assume that I should stick with the industry standard CF lighting for my favorite rare cS specimens, or should I consider hiking my photosynthetic bandwidth up to true daylight levels?

·
Registered
2,552 Posts
BAH!!

I am by no means an expert on lighting and I did not stay in a Holiday Inn last night but a photon is a photon is a photon.

To bad I don't know enough to delve into the specific differences but using MH is no different then using Power Compacts. You need to keep some things in mind, such as a MH produces more heat. PC's have a better light spread since they produce light on a longer length where a MH is a point source light. You need to keep this in mind when planting, corners are a bit darker then directly under the light even with quality reflectors. MH offers this intangible quality that is lacking with PC's, the water has a certain shimmer to it. I can't quite wrap words around the effect

I certainly would not call MH at the same wattage levels as PC's like rung on nitrous, it's just different.

·
Registered
432 Posts
Directly under a MH there is probably more 'punch' so they can reach deeper, but that's not spread out. Watt for watt both MH and PCs produce about the same amount of light and heat overall, it's just spread out more with PCs. Reflectors and positioning can have big effects on the efficacy of both.

TW

·
Registered