Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
144 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a freshman in collage and for the first year I am living @ home, which is about 15min from campus. I just finished my first semester;)! Anyway, come next year(fall 09) I will most likely be living in the dorms. I've got 3 planted tanks(15gal, 20gal, 55gal). Only the 20gal is allowed in the dorm room:(. I can't part w/ my high-tech 55gal and I didn't want to leave it at home. Since I'm a Biology major I asked for permission to set it up in one of the education buildings. My adviser really seemed to like the idea. I've been up to the biology wing and was very depressed. All they had where some stuffed birds, bones, and preserved fish on display. Where's the "Biology".

My adviser said my idea was highly doable, which is the good news. The bad news is my 55gal(well actually all my tanks) will have to be moved back and fourth from home to school about 4 times a year! Until I move out of the dorms. The other bad news is the Bio-wing is on the fourth floor, there is an elevator, but I don't know how big it is.

So how does one go about moving a high-tech tank? Am I going to have to completely tear it down? Take all the plants out and stuff? It's got about a 100lbs of eco-complete in it. Two of the moves will be done in Winter. I may setup a rubber-maid tub to house the fish for a couple days. That way I can move the fish to the temporary tank, then move the 55gal and let it sit for a few days, then move the fish back.

·
Premium Member
8,540 Posts
I would not move anything bigger than a 10 without tearing it down. I have left the substrate in a 15 before. 4 times a year sounds exhausting. I think you would end up with ammonia spikes and algae blooms. Just when your tanks would settle down again you'd have to move them again. Not sure how doable that is. :(

·
Premium Member
5,448 Posts