Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I have decided to try a Walstadish tank. I have no experience with aquariums and very little good judgment, but a lot of acceptance of novel outcomes. I read some stuff on the internet then took Ecology of the Planted Aquarium out of the library and went through it. I have some notes and a general sense of what I should care about. Alright, time to begin.
--- Updates ---
Update 1 - Pre-setup pictures, measurements and (bad) plans:
Pictures https://www.aquaticplantcentral.com/threads/my-haphazard-tank-journey.146596/post-1019378
Blah blah blah https://www.aquaticplantcentral.com/threads/my-haphazard-tank-journey.146596/post-1019379

Update2 - Initial setup and second day

--- Original Post ---
Here's where I'm at so far (will update with pictures/progress as I go along) and where the trouble starts.

I bought a tank tank for $50 on craigslist advertised as "55 gal, but could be 75, someone told me 100". It's more like that 100, I can measure again, but it's 40 inches long and something like 30 inches tall. In other words, Not Recommended Dimensions. It's kinda dinged up, too, but we'll interpret that as personality.

I scraped off the paint on the outside with razor blades. Then filled it with water to see if it leaked, which of course it did. I watched some youtube videos and decided to give resealing a try. I scraped out all the sealant, rubbed with alcohol and applied the stuff, waited a week then filled it up. After 4 days with no leak I'm calling it a success, but in a month I'll be posting about how I never could have foreseen how this used and abused mystery tank could fail and ruin my whole house.