Aquatic Plant Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys!
I'm just getting started with a planted tank so I'm really new to a lot of the substrate and lighting requirements. Please bear with me. My tank has been set up for 3 yrs now with fake plants and crushed rock substrate. The tank is 65 gal (48x13x24) and the lighting is the same that came with the tank. Currently I have 2 angels, 1 pleco, 1 rainbow shark, a school of tetras, a few platys, and 1 gourami.

For the substrate I want to try out the Turface MVP (mainly due to cost constraints) just for something new to play around with. Any suggestions on using this product? Currently I'm treating my tank for Ich, how long after treatment should I wait before swapping out my substrate?

For lighting I'm looking at the NOVA Extreme T5 X2 set up. Here's the link to the one in particular that I'm looking at.
http://www.marineandreef.com/Nova_Extreme_T5_Aquarium_Lighting_Current_USA_p/rcu01129.htm

Any opinions...advice...suggestions???

Thanks guys,
Ashley

·
Premium Member
4,877 Posts
I don't know much about the NOVA, but that seems like a good fixture with good bulbs. That would give you at least 1.6 WPG. That would normally be on the low end, but it depends on how good the reflectors are. Start off with some low-light plants and one or two medium-light plants and see how they do. You could also keep the original lamps as well and get more light that way. If the lamps that came with it are 15W each, that would give you at least 2 WPG.

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Since I have angels in the tank I'm leaning toward putting some swords in as well. From what I've read, swords seem to take high-light. What would you reccommend? What would be some other good plants to put in with the fish that are in my tank?
Thanks,
Ashley

·
Premium Member
739 Posts