Aquatic Plant Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi all. i am new to aquascaping and recently started. i hav a few doubts which i hope you guys can clarify for me.
actually i used my dad's old fish tank which contains gravel to grow some hairgrass and some stem plants, one of them died and i read that that particular species requires lots of nutrients in the substrate and i realized i had none. so i went to a LFS and bought a pack of JBL fertilizers and another pack of gravel-like substrate. i told my situation to the shopkeeper and he instructed me to drain almost all the water out and shift one part on the gravel to one side, pour in the fertilizer then cover it up, followed by the other side.

unfortunately, i think the amount of water is still too much and the fertilizers sort of diffused throughout the tank. makin it extremely cloudy and i dun see a layer of fertilizers as told by the shopkeeper, which is supposed to be about 2cm layer of fertilizers and 3-4cm of the gravel. i tried filling up the tank slowly but the cloudiness still remains. now i have a tank of reddish-brown water with several ghost shrimps swimming in it. i did not on the filter as i am afraid all the fertilizers will be filtered off, wasting the whole pack of it. can any1 advice what i should do now? really worried about the hairgrass and 3 catfish that i removed to fill in the fertilizers, hope i can put them back into the tank as soon as possible.

·
Registered
204 Posts
Messy situation you have there, I had similar problems before. To tell you the truth, I dont think you can get back the fertiliser out and use it again. I imagine that the fert you used is similar to regular soil, and now it is all mixed with your gravel and water. If the fert is homogenously mixed then you'd best get another pack.