Aquatic Plant Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings everyone. Im new to planted aquariums, and just wanted to say hi and ask for alittle bit of assistance. I currently have a Eclipse 3 that I'm starting minor planting in, it will house 1 betta being shipped from Thailand by the end of this week.

I use RO water or spring water, it has normal gravel substrate, and 2 medium, 2 small java ferns directly in the substrate. I also have 2 smallish/medium nana's on the way soon, although I might only put one in there.

I generally leave the light on 10 hours. It's the stock 8 watt fluoro bulb. The tank is heated at 79-80F. It currently has no fish. I used Hagen cycle to start it off and a pH 7.0. I've noticed small patches of algae growing on the substrate in some areas, and a little bit on the bottom of the glass. It's been running for about 5 days. The algae also seems to have taken a liking to some of the roots of the java ferns, as I see it growing on their roots in some cases.

Any way I can pre-emptively fight this algae before it starts to become a problem? I was thinking of maybe some Amano Shrimp, but am inexperienced in care for these. I was also considering a Zebra Narite snail, but again, am inexperienced.

Anyone give me some pointers? Should I add anything to the tank fertilizer wise, CO2? Also, I know my light situation is not ideal, and is a "low" light situation. Is there anyway I can bump this light up, without heating the tank anymore from it? And would it be beneficial? Well, thanks for your help guys, look forward to hearing from you all.

·
Premium Member
7,475 Posts