Aquatic Plant Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to planted tanks. I had big freshwater South American Cichlid tanks in college--a 90 gallon Hex and then a Short rectangular 90 Gallon. They had Eheim canister filters, and a fluidized bed sand type filter thing. I would buy big cichlids, vacuum the gravel every 2-3 weeks, never had a problem other than fish fights.

I always wanted a nice planted tank, but I kept trying plants with the Cichlids and ended up with algae all over the leaves and the fish ripping them out. So now 10 years later, I want to try again, and I'm looking for your help to hopefully save me some time. I'm buying a whole new set up. Here's what I'm thinking...

Tank--Aqueon 37 Gallon 30x12x22 for a cabinet space that is 34x17x48. Would the taller tank be better, or the shorter 30x12x12 tank that is 20 Gallon long? Some problem with light penetration or something? http://www.beldtsaquarium.com/index_files/beldts.htm

Substrate--I was planning to use the Eco-Complete because it's almost black, and no one seems to have ever had trouble with it, it'd be the easiest for a novice like me to start with. And it seems that it would be all I'd need to put, wouldn't need sand or fine gravel, just use all Eco-Complete and nothing else, about 3 inches deep?

Plants--with no fish, the plants and substrate will have to do the cycling/creating beneficial bacteria culture. I've been reading to start with fast growing stem plants. What are the common ones, easy to grow ones, darkest green ones?

Fish--After the plants are established, right? Or should I put some cheap ones in from the beginning to build the bacteria bed/cycling. If I could cycle with no fish, great. Do I ever need to put fish? would algae run amok without fish to eat it? Some bright red shrimp would be cool, but what fish go best with plants? SAE's will eat moss? What fish won't eat moss, cause I like moss alot.