Aquatic Plant Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the hobby although have previous experience in keeping tropical fish. I am in the process of buying a 48"x18"x18" tank & having seen the many beautiful planted tanks on the web, hope to produce something similar.
I have researched the subject extensively & have decided on the following perameters: External 'Eheim 2026' canister filter, 300 watt heater, DIY CO2, 160 watt of T8 lighting & a substrate of 2"clay/gravel mix beneath 2" 'Florite'.
My main question is that in addition to the above nutrients do I need to use a liquid fertalizer & is there any glaring problem with my setup that I am missing?
I read somewhere that without fertilizer most plants will soon die, is this true? Also I keep reading about other aquarium owners who use KNO3, NO3 & PO4. What are these nutrients & am I going to need to buy a range of liquid nutrients or is there an 'all in one' product I could use?
All help & advise will be gratefully appreciated.

Many thanks, Nick.W (UK)

·
Registered
1,035 Posts
Welcome, Nik. Where are you located in the UK?

48 * 18 * 18 inches: That is a 67 US gallon (or 56 Imperial gallons, 253 litres), unless my math is out. A nice tank size. What is it? Juwel? Deltec? Eheim?

I suppose the answer to your question about whether it is necessary to add iquid fertilizers such as KNO3 (which you can order in the UK via a chemists as saltpetre) and PO4 (which is also available in the UK as Fleet Enema in chemists, I think) depends on what plants you will grow and whether you might consider adding CO2 as well. The lighting you plan to use is fairly low, I think. This could be a nice easy tank to maintain at that level of light.

Andrew Cribb

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for your reply PINEAPPLE. In answer to your questions, I live in an area of the East Midlands called Leicester.