Aquatic Plant Forum banner

newbie has a few questions

3K views 7 replies 3 participants last post by  wayne17 
#1 ·
Hi this is the first time I have ever posted on a forum so take it easy on me, I got into the hobby only seven months ago. I have a 305 litre corner aquarium in which I have about 60 inches (when fully grown) of fish a few shrimp and about 30 plants, it has 105 watts of t8 light and a fluval 406 external filter.I use excel for co2 and flourish comp for certs. All the plants seem to be growing well but I have been battling with bba for the last three months, which I seem to have under control by direct dosing with the recommended 6ml dose of excel, but I now seem to have staghorn algae growing mainly on the leaves of java fern and hygrophilla corombosa that have small holes in them. Which I guess is down to a shortage of potassium?
Tank readings are
ammonia. 0
Nitrite. 0
Nitrate. Under 5 but not zero
Lights are on 8 hours

Now for the questions
I take it my tank is low light should I increase duration to 10 or 12 hours or leave it at eight until algae has gone?
Is ok to use pps pro as I dose excel and not co2?
I have a big bottle of flourish comp left can I use this for the trace mix till it has run out and if it is ok should I reduce the amount of potassium and nitrogen in the nutrient mix as flourish comp has some in?
Many thanks for any help
Wayne

See less See more
#2 ·
Don't know if this is how I'm meant to do it but here is a update on my post. Have searched the forum and it seems that it is ok to use excel instead of co2 so that is that question answered!
Still not sure about light duration, my tank is a aquaone UFO 880 corner aquarium, about 71 us gallons after taking off 10% for gravel and bogwood. Gives me 1.47 Wpg of t8 light I take it this is low light so should I increase my light duration to 10 or 12 hours or leave it at eight?