Aquatic Plant Forum banner

Newbie here - Question about high CEC substrate and water column dosing

10K views 7 replies 3 participants last post by  niko 
#1 ·
Ok, I read everything on the PPS-Pro website, including the bit about substrate:

Substrate is what holds plants down, nothing more. Actually it is much more complicated then that, but we don't have to worry about it because aquatic plants can uptake all nutrients from the water column. So why are there nutrient rich substrates on the market? Well, if I didn't have any good fertilizer available then I go for such substrate to have better growth. Fortunately we have very good fertilizers today producing spectacular plants in any substrate, rich or inert, doesn't matter. Any substrate you may like for its color or shape from any company or only plain river sand or pool filter sand, they all grow perfect plants.
So, my question is regarding using a substrate with high cation exchange capacity (CEC) such as Eco-complete with PPS-Pro dosing.

As I understand things (please correct me if I'm wrong), a high CEC substrate like Eco-complete absorbs macro and micro nutrients from the water column. This allows them to store nutrients like a battery and release them slowly over time to the root systems of plants.

If I'm using PPS-Pro method in an Eco-complete aquarium, would my nutrient tests of the water column be accurate? I'm concerned about overdosing and ending up with too many nutrients, because the Eco-complete is absorbing too rapidly and my test kits are only testing the water column.

Does this even matter? Thanks for your responses.

#2 ·