Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I am from Bangalore, India. I have always wanted an aquarium, but never actually dared to have one because of the high-tech, high-maintanance and because it's very costly hobby where I live. I stumbled upon low tech tanks on YouTube, read a lot of stuff online. I was lucky enough to get a copy of Diana walstad's book (my neighbour's son had a copy in their college library) and read it. I admit most of the chemistry she talks about, went over my head 馃檮 but I understood one thing. It is very much possible to have a low tech, no filter, no CO2, aquarium with plants and sufficient fish. So, I finally took the plunge and setup a small 1G aquarium. I am completely new to this, never ever had even a little guppy fish to care for, this is the first aquarium in my entire family to be honest.
Nano tank setup:
  • I used cheap potting soil (60:20:20 garden soil:vermicompst: cocopeat). I guess cocopeat was lesser than what was on the pack, when I filtered it for wood pieces and like could not find much. I layered the jar with about an inch of soil and left it to air dry for a day.
  • next day covered the soil with an inch of sand (kids play area sand) and filled the jar with water. When the sand settled I noticed very little cocopeat floating and removed it.
  • my fish arrived before my plants, so after a day of soaking the soil and sand in water I did water change and added my fish. Got 6 guppies. The fish seemed fine for two days, they were swimming around and eating well too.
  • my plants arrived 2 days after the fish. I moved the fish to a bowl, emptied the water, planted it, added fresh water and let it sit for 24 hours. The room has a very bright 32w led tubelight, so did not add any additional light on the first day.