Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
733 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I received this email from one of our members and thought that I'd post it also as others may benefit from it also:

stuckintexas said:
Hey, I am new to this stuff. Just got a D90 today and I am wondering if you know of any good sites/forums for me to learn how to use this camera to its fullest. I am a newb! :p
Not sure how much you're into photography or how much you plan on being into. Considering the fact that you've bought D90, I'm making an assumption that you're going to be using the camera sparingly. ;)

Couple of things to start you off:
  1. Read the manual end-to-end while having the camera in your hand so that you see what is being discussed. I understand that he Nikon manuals may be a little cryptic, but still worth the read.
  2. Try not to use the A setting. You might as well get a point-to-shoot. No pun intended. Start with P (Program mode). This setting sets the A (aperture) & S (shutter) automatically and lets you decide on all of the other options (like flash, metering, etc.)
  3. Understand when to use A and S settings. A lets you control how much light you want to let in to the sensor. It also lets you decide if you can hand-hold the camera and depth of field. The S lets you how long you want to let the light to the sensor.
  4. M - Manual setting: This is more for an advanced photographer who needs to manipulate the exact settings in all categories.
Other references: