Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all ... I'm very very very new to planted aquarium (3 weeks old). I have a newbie question, and hoping all the gurus out there could shed some light on this. I own a very small aquarium with 8 tetras in it. I just bought a java fern today (attached to driftwood) and banana plant (attached to a stone). I dont use Co2 and my substrate is just gravel.

Just a lil background on how my tank is set up.

Anyway my question is that before I bought the plants i was using a nitrifying bacteria solution which was recommended by my supplier. it is suppose to take care of the algae and fend of the fishy water tank smell. I remember reading from somewhere and that if i have plants in my aquarium I might not need the solution at all. Can anyone confirm that?

I am not really worried about algae because in addition to the tetras i have 2 more suckermouth totos (if identified them correctly).

Thanks in advance

·
Premium Member
8,540 Posts
The bacteria is really to start your tank cycling. It will take the ammonia that is given off by fish wastes, rotting plants, and convert it into nutrients that the plants can use. It grows on the hardscape in your tank - gravel, filters, pipes, plant surfaces, etc. It will occur naturally if you add nothing, but it takes longer to grow to a sufficient amount for you tank. SO, people add some. My understanding is that unless it is kept refrigerated or is in a tank it dies. There are many products out there sold as this bacteria that don't work - at least that is what I have been reading. The best thing you can do is get some mulm (dirty crud from filter or gravel) and put it into your filter and tank. It has this bacteria.

The way it keeps the algae away is that it helps give your plants the correct type of ammonia they can use.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·