Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
143 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there,

I'm just getting started on the planning of a new 10 g setup and I'm wondering if all the knowledgeable people here can give me some types of rock that are NPT safe. I've used Slate in my 20g, but am wondering what else will work? Thanks!

·
Super Moderator
2,792 Posts
I believe that almost any natural, surface rock is safe. Your chances of getting a rock that contains something truly harmful (arsenic, mercury, copper, etc) are just about nil. In the rare instance that dangerous rocks are prevalent in an area, they would have leached these metals into the groundwater and poisoned people's well water, so you would be forewarned that rocks in the area might be a problem. I know that my well water is good, so I deduce that the rocks on my property are good, too.

Also, rocks that might increase water hardness shouldn't be a major concern. Neither calcium nor magesium (the components of water hardness) are toxic, and you can always measure water hardness if you suspect the rocks are releasing these chemicals. You'd only find these rocks in desert areas with very little rainfall. I live in the Southeastern US (North Carolina) where almost all calcium and magnesium carbonate rocks were dissolved eons ago.

I've used many different types of rocks (lava, quartz, slate, basalt, phyllite, etc) from my property-- added directly to the tank. No boiling necessary!

I have recently started studying geology and found it fascinating. Rocks are cool!

·
Registered
143 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks Diana, Rocks ARE cool!! I wish I knew more about geology - very interesting. Glad to know most of them will be just fine in my tank - hunting for cool things to use in your aquarium is half the fun!