Aquatic Plant Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
119 Posts
Thanks for the pictures Jay. The scapes are so simple, yet so amazing!Does anyone know the foreground plants in all of the pictures?

·
Registered
216 Posts
thanks Jay!

two more questions for everybody.

1. are Dupla and ADA the best equipments/aquascapes in the world? this question sounds stupid. i just discussed with a friend shortly yesterday. he just mentioned Dupla. honestly, i never heard that brand and anything before until yesterday. see~ i'm a newbie here.

2. any reason why there is no Tropica distributor/dealer in the U. S.? we only can buy book in CA! :roll:

thanks for answering me those questions. :lol:

Tim

·
Registered
1,715 Posts
Question 1:

Dupla and ADA products are definitely of very high quality (with the high prices ot match), but I wouldn't say that these products are necessary for creating award winning aquascapes by any means. I do think the glass pieces ADA produces are very pretty, though.

Question 2:

Tropica plants are not allowed into the US because their plants are potted in rock wool. The US requires that all incoming plants must not have growing medium on their roots (rock wool, dirt, etc) so that they can be inspected for parasites, nematodes, etc. Tropica won't remove the rock wool from their plants because the added labor costs would make it unprofitable to sell them in the US.

Anyways, nearly all plants produced by Tropica can already be found in the U.S.

Carlos

·
Premium Member
3,966 Posts
Dupla is a German company that was started by two of the pioneers of planted aquariums. Unfortunately, it has since been sold and the company has lost its edge.

Dupla's book, The Optimum Aquarium, was considered a bible for many years. It is actually what got me into serious planted tanks. It is very out of date now, but nevertheless a good read for anyone.