Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,966 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
One of our members send me a PM with the following. He agreed to let me post the response here.

Hey Art, your substrate article is awesome! Just a couple of questions, when using humus and peat does laterite need to be added? Would pumice, etc. need to be added to recycle the nutrients or does that happen without it? How much would I need for a 36"x18" base?
Firstly, humus is scientifically defined as that which is developed over time by the decomposition of organics (this meaning that it comes from the remains of living things i.e., deceased animal or vegetable life). It is commonly used in gardening and can be found in most nursery stores.

Secondly, I am not a big proponent of using humus or other very rich additives like earthworm castings unless I'm growing plants emersed. There is just too much seapage into the water column in my experience. The use of peat, however, is good as it stays together better and decomposes slowly.

Thirdly, the use of pumice serves a couple of functions. It is inert so it won't change the chemical makeup of the substrate solution. In addition, it prevents compaction on a long-term basis. It also provides a home for colonies of beneficial microorganisms that are charged with nutrient recycling.

I do add a little laterite to my mix. It provides iron that becomes soluble due to the acid substrate solution.

As for the 36x18, that is the footprint of my 58g. I like to put an inch of this stuff on the bottom. I use the following recipe: 5 cups pumice to 1 cup peat. I also add .5 cup laterite, charcoal and (well washed) greensand. I think this gives me enough for a 10 gallon tank so you may need to multiply that accordingly.

·
Banned
2,069 Posts
Art, that should work well and not cost much.

I do think that adding Turface vs pumice would be better unless you have high iron pumice?