Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the planted tank hobby due to my daughter gifting me a container for a water garden to be placed in my garden. After placing collected gravel in the bottom, filling with well water, adding a potted lotus seed and floating some salvinia minima on top, all was well until I noticed all the mosquito larvae enjoying the water about 3 days later. So off to the local pet supply for some fish to take care of the larvae. So....I put the fish in one day and the next day I had fish babies. And of course these little livebearers cannot withstand cold temps of North Carolina winters, even though I consider them mild, so I decided to get a used aquarium just as a place to keep the fish for winter. I had a small bit of aquarium keeping knowledge from having a small tank years earlier, but this was before the internet so I was dependent on a small booklet I had gotten from the pet store at the time I purchased the aquarium for all my how to info.
Needless to say things have changed quite a bit since those days. I have been overwhelmed by the amount of information available and I believe it was pure luck that I was ever able to keep any fish alive.
All that being said, I now have 2 small tanks that I am trying to get through the cycling phase over the summer so I can bring these little critters inside for the winter. I have spent countless hours watching youtube videos and reading articles on forums such as this to help me make this happen. I have fallen in love with this planted tank hobby and can't seem to learn enough fast enough.
And finally to my question.