Aquatic Plant Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Super Moderator
6,406 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What is the status of the PlantFinder? Is any current work being done on adding new plant photos and descriptions? I would like to volunteer to help add descriptions and pictures. Who is in charge of that section of APC.

·
Registered
326 Posts
Cavin
I would like to compliment you and APC for the PLANT FINDER INDEX.
Before I found it, I just googled to get info about a plant. Sometimes it worked, but mostly I just got useless info or a sales website.
I use it a lot
Thank you
Charles

·
Registered
70 Posts
Cudos to Cavin,
Lately I'm finding plants listed for sale that are not in the plant finder. Are these new species or hybrids? Sorry if it is a dumb question but I'm still new to the hobby and have difficulty putting the right plant with the right name, so I rely heavily apon the plant finder for info. I agree with cbwmn that googling usually leads just to sellers and little useful info.

·
Registered
4,332 Posts
Well, there are over 300 aquatic plants that are commonly kept in the aquarium. Throw in another 300 or so that are less common. Cavan does a fabulous job with this , but he hasn't gotten to all of them yet. ;)

I think I speak for him in saying that we're always willing to accept submissions for text and photos. Credit will be given when appropriate.

·
Administrator
7,388 Posts
Actually, I'm looking more for photos now. If anybody has any really good photos to contribute, they can get in touch with me via PM and I'll elaborate on what I'm looking for.

Thanks for the comments everyone. :)

·
Registered
4,332 Posts
Let me clarify on what I stated earlier. The quality and value of the PF's current content derives partly from fairly rigorous standards when it comes to style and format.