Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I'm new to this so I appreciate all the help I can get.
I have a 4 ft(120cm) tank approx. 200 litres(50 gallons)
pH 6.8.
Gh 1.0 degree
Kh 1.0 degree (all done with Red Sea test kit)
It's a planted community tank with 50+tetras plus misc algae controlling creatures. Plants include amazon sword, riccia, java moss, java fern, hair grass and Vallisneria.
Pressurised co2 system
3*38W Arcadia Lamps
fertilised with JBL Ferropol
Was wondering why the plants are not pearling?
Has it anything to do with my Gh and Kh levels?

·
Premium Member
1,218 Posts
There are a few things that will effect this issue. Pearling is O2 that is created during the process of photosynthesis. Plants need a few macronutrients to accomplish this task. You didnt supply information on your macronutrients....such as NO3 and PO4. However, you did supply your KH and PH. With these two measurements you can figure out home much CO2 is in your system. With your current readings you are at about 4.8ppm, which is pretty low. At your KH you would want to have a PH of 6.2 to have 19ppm of CO2....and you might even want more CO2 in your tank. Try increasing your CO2 or perhaps you need a better reactor to get the CO2 into the water. With that size tank, it is almost impossible to achieve proper CO2 levels without a good reactor. You might consider bringing your KH up to the 3 range for PH stability. Also, you might consider bringing your GH up to 5.
jB

·
Registered
1,035 Posts
You're in Singapore. If you ask around, I expect you can get a water report detailing the composition of the local water.

That is a large aquarium you have. The following things occur to me:

- what substrate are you using? That might have a bearing on the future of your plants.

- the lighting you're using for that size of tank is fairly modest. Is it T5 lighting?